Weekend on the Konza

Yesterday became my rest day – as in “passive rest” day so I did no workout. It was going to be a run day and today was the rest day, but I felt exhausted yesterday and listened to my body and switched the days.

Today was a good day for me. We went out to the Konza Prairie and did the 2.5 mile trail. The beginning of the trail is basically a warm-up for me because it’s walking up hills – the last one is a killer for me. But then you’re on top and the wind blows and it is beautiful. If you haven’t been there, go. 🙂

After the hill it evens out a bit and we started jogging. I ended up doing 12.5 minutes total with 2 to 3 minute jogs and one stretch of 5 minutes straight. I was so happy and felt the beginning of the high – in fact, I only did recovery walks for 1 minute so I was quite pleased with myself. At the end of the trail, I *might* have said to David, “I’m the king of the world!”

On awesome friend news, my bff is starting the couch to 5k this week and will be running as well! I’m excited to possibly have a partner for running later. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

