What Not to Do When Training…

Okay, so maybe “training” is a bit of a stretch. Maybe it should be “what not to do when LEARNING” or something like that. I’m learning to run while training for a race that is coming. But I digress.

I didn’t think about having long days of work and how that would affect my running. The other day I wrote about how I really feel that the early am is the time for me to be beating the path. And today, I thoroughly proved that to myself. I didn’t want to get up early and run this morning because I needed to be at work early and I haven’t quite figured that one out yet – the whole get up, go jog/run, shower, get dressed, cool down enough to put on makeup, and get to work on time thing. Ugh. So I waited until tonight. What a bad experience that was!

First, I was stressed. But I really actually wanted to run. I told David that all I wanted to do was change clothes and go running. It was weird – I felt this urge to run! So, we went out and I decided that I no longer needed to follow any routine or anything anymore. I just started jogging and went for it. No long warm-up walk. No planning for small recovery walk breaks. Just started. At the end of the stretch of trail we were on, I was at 9 min 44 sec. I walked for awhile and then started again.

Sounds good, right? Wrong. Suddenly my left knee hurt. Badly. And then the back of my right leg was cramping. And I hurt. I made it 2 more minutes and that was it. I had to walk the rest of the way.

So, I’m thinking that there must be something to the running programs they have beginners do. Probably there’s a reason that they have you do stretches of running with breaks of walking…stretches of running that build up to large amounts of time. As in, don’t just suddenly decide to run for 11 minutes right away.

Lesson for the day: Um, listen to the experts…I think they know what they’re talking about.  And also to listen to your body. I debated back and forth about going out because I was exhausted and worried how that would affect my run. I know that you should make yourself go out – even when you’re tired – so I went. But maybe, there are times you should not. Obviously, when facing exhaustion, you should not go (or if you do, follow the rules!).

Friday is rest/workout at the gym day so I will wait until Saturday to go out again – this time, listening. 🙂

3 comments

  1. Mom · August 20, 2010

    Do you do stretching exercises before you actually start to run or fast-walk? It does make a difference in how your muscles feel!
    I think the fact that you “craved” to go for a run is a good thing! Keep it up!

  2. Melia Erin · August 21, 2010

    I do “moving stretching” – stretching while staying in motion. There’s some research showing that the static stretches most of us picture when we think about stretching are better to do after you’re done running while your muscles are warmed up. That way, you’re not causing any injuries. A lot of the time, walking as warm-up and doing more fluid stretching is best.

    And yes, I’m pretty tickled that I actually wanted to run. Makes me pretty excited!

    • Kethan · May 4, 2011

      What a joy to find soenome else who thinks this way.

Leave a Reply

