Love, Rain, and Running

This morning I woke up to rain. Not a torrential rain, but a hard rain. I, for a moment, entertained the idea of crawling back into bed and setting the alarm for 6a to get up then.

But then I remembered that I registered for a race and I NEED to be able to run a 5K. And part of that training is for me to get out of the house and run. So I did. In the rain. It was awesome.

I only did 2 miles (walked about 1/2 mile of that) because of the rain but I was pretty darn proud of myself. And though I don’t want to write on this blog about my relationship with David, let me tell you a little story.

He did not get up with me. When I told him it was raining, he went back to bed. I think he planned for me to do the same but then I asked if I could borrow his headphones (they wrap around your ears) because they wouldn’t fall out in the rain like mine do. I told him that I didn’t care if it was raining – I was going anyway.

After the first mile, I was startled because suddenly somebody was running beside me. I was oblivious to anyone around me because 1) it was 5am and raining – I was the only one out, 2) I didn’t have my glasses on because it was raining, 3) it was dark and 4) I was lost in my music. But suddenly, there was somebody there. It was David, running along side of me…and then he passed me (his pace is much quicker than mine). It turns out he left after me and was behind me for awhile.

He told me later when we were walking back home that he couldn’t just lay in bed while I was out running in the rain.

God, I love this man.

That’s my story for the day. Rain and love. Rain and running. Love of running. πŸ™‚

3 comments

  1. Kristin W · August 24, 2010

    Love the your blog!

    Have you read Born to Run? It is really interesting and described why were designed to run. πŸ™‚ Also, Jake Gyllenhaal is supposedly starring in a movie based on the book.

    http://www.amazon.com/Born-Run-Hidden-Superathletes-Greatest/dp/0307266303

  2. sharlaelizabeth · August 24, 2010

    He is too sweet! Good for you for running in the rain (I love it, personally). Good luck with the 5k!

  3. Melia Erin · August 24, 2010

    @sharlaelizabeth – Thanks! I’m looking forward to the 5K and it’s definitely been a motivator!

    @Kristin – I’m totally going to ILL that book today. πŸ™‚ Thanks!

Leave a Reply

