On the Road

The knee pain has definitely started now. I know I shouldn’t be surprised since I’m trying to do all of this with bad knees and a bad back and oh, did I mention, I’m obese? And actually, the knee pain doesn’t really kick in until I’m walking up and down stairs – it’s just more obvious to me right now because I’m at my mom’s house and it seems all I do is walk up and down stairs.

This morning I’m doing some work while others are still in bed – work that I really need to get done – but as I sit here, I really feel like I want to be out there walking and jogging and running. It’s a weird feeling and I haven’t quite got used to it yet. I don’t know how to describe it – an aching maybe? Like, I know that if I get off this chair, change into my running shoes and head out the door, I will feel great (and exhausted) when I return. But then I wonder if I’m just procrastinating on my work.

On a side note, did I mention I’m vegan? I have been for months now but still struggle with it at times when traveling. Usually I do what I did for this trip to my mom’s house, which is bring food with me. Last night I roasted a bunch veggies with seasoning and olive oil for dinner. Mmm. Anyway, I was doing a favor for my mom on the way up here and had to stop at Cabela’s to pick something up for her. Cabela’s  – do you know this store? It’s like the hunting/fishing mecca. Until I walked in the door, I completely forgot about all the real dead animals EVERYWHERE in the store. Agh. I thought I was going to lose it. When I talked to my mom later I told her I was going to write a story called “A Vegan in Cabela’s” or something.

But I digress. Tomorrow morning (or maybe later today – we’ll see how the day plays out) I am going to head to a little town near my mom’s with a good walking path at a park and do my running. Because it’s a small world after all, it will be weird for me because I haven’t walked around this park in 15 years – when I walked around it in high school. It’s the town I lived in many years ago. Weird.

2 comments

  1. Tara · September 6, 2010

    Have you tried water jogging? Maybe switching up land and water would help your knee

  2. Melia Erin · September 6, 2010

    Tara, that’s a really good idea. I need to try that and I have heard that before. Of course, there’s that whole issue of being able to make myself put on a swimsuit. LOL 🙂

Leave a Reply

