Support System

I’ve always loved the saying that it takes a village to raise a child. And lately I’m thinking that it takes a village to support an obese runner. LOL.

Seriously, with all the struggles I’ve had this week (though as my mom has pointed out in a comment, my problems might be small and minuscule to some), I have learned that I have the best friends and people in my life. Hearing from close friends and David that they believe in me and that they are proud of me means so much…so much that it gets me off the couch. I’m guessing everyone struggles with doubt and lack of self-motivation at times and it means a lot to me that I have a cheering section in my corner.

I think part of it is that the people in my life are also changing and thinking about health, nutrition, positive changes, etc. Whether it’s a friend considering vegetarianism/veganism, or one who has started walking/running, or one who has made the decision to quit smoking, or a couple of friends exercising and cutting out processed foods, we’re all in it together. We feel that it’s time and understand the importance of us being healthy and living longer, healthier lives.

I’ve always said that my friends are family, and the past couple of weeks have really shown that to me. So, thanks all for being there for me. I hope that I can/will/already am do/ing the same for you.

Leave a Reply

