Injured.

Well, I finally broke down and went to the doctor for my knee pain. Turns out I have patellofermoral pain syndrome. It’s an inflammation under my kneecap and is a runner’s injury – kind of a common one and a little serious. Serious in that I need to take care of it if I want to keep running. So I’m out for the race tomorrow (which upsets me…a lot) but if I take care of myself and rest and ice for the next few days, I *might* be able to still run the 5K on the 2nd. I hope I can – it was my original first goal – to run a 5k at the beginning of October. I’m going to be pretty bummed if I can’t do it.

However, on the other hand, it’s more important to me that I get to keep running and do my half-marathon next fall. So I will not overdo it and end up hurting myself in the long run.

Part of my treatment plan, beyond ibuprofen and ice is to start physical therapy – which I start next week. I also busted out some librarian skills and have already downloaded some rehabilitation exercises for it as well. He recommended cycling as a good way to keep up the aerobic exercise while keeping the body weight off my knees. So, thankfully, I have a membership to the Rec and will be going there to do that soon – hopefully I will feel well enough to do on Sunday.

I’m in for an interesting weekend. With me not being able to walk without pain, and a ridiculous hobble, I not up for doing much. David is gone for the weekend with his friends for one of his trips to see the Chiefs lose (lol) on Sunday. My friend who lives in our basement apartment is also gone for the weekend so it’s just me and the furry kids. Tomorrow at least I will get out of the house to see my bff’s daughter play in a volleyball tournament (yes, we’ll be sitting on the bottom row of the bleachers). But other than that, just me on the couch with ice on the knees resting. I can’t think of the last time I just sat around all weekend and watched TV. I am reading a book but left it at work so need to go up to my office to get it. Reading and watching TV and hanging out with friends – sounds pretty good to me. Now, if only restaurants would deliver me some food for free… LOL

Leave a Reply

