The Plan

Not gonna lie. I was tired today. My alarm went off at 4:45 and I kinda wanted to throw it out the window. But instead I got up and started getting running gear on. I think David was tired too because he slept through my alarm and didn’t get up until I had lights on and was moving around. But, we got up and headed out. The cool thing about being sore though is that as you start your workout or run or walk or whatever, your body loosens up and takes the edge off the soreness. So after jogging a few spurts, the pain started to ease up.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m still sore and tired. But that’s not all because I started running again – a lot is because I started exercising in general again. My body was used to me just walking to work and stuff – not all out fitness. I think my body’s rebelling a bit. But I also think it likes it too. In either case, I’m in slow motion today. Like, “walking around my house this morning after we got back/showered/dressed so slowly that I was running late for work and put on my makeup at my desk” slow. Not that I punch a clock or anything, I just like to be at work super early because I get a lot done during that time. I’m definitely a morning person.

The book I mentioned yesterday is Teach Yourself Running by Sara Kirkahm. It’s older – 2008 – but I still love it because it’s so much more information than just a running program for  6 weeks to be able to run a 5K. She includes nutrition, clothing, stance, posture, equipment, all sorts of stuff.

Book Cover

My favorite "learning to run" book

I highly recommend to book to anyone who wants to start running or is a beginner. Heck, there’s lots of information in there that anyone running up to a half marathon would find helpful in there.

One thing that I’m changing is the training schedule. I’ve decided that I need to add in some cardio all-body workout to my week of running & biking. So now the schedule will be:

  • Sunday: Complete Rest Day
  • Monday: Running in the morning
  • Tuesday: Aerobics/Cardio after work
  • Wednesday: Running in the morning
  • Thursday: Aerobics/Cardio after work
  • Friday: Running after work
  • Saturday: Biking

A bit ambitious for someone starting again, I admit. But I feel good (minus soreness of course) and am looking forward to seeing results physically and mentally/emotionally. Endorphins are the best drug ever. 🙂

2 comments

  1. alibrariangirl · August 11, 2011

    Melia, I’m on the sidelines cheering you and David! Go Go Go!!! At the best pace, of course 🙂 .

  2. Melia Erin · August 13, 2011

    Hey, thanks Antoinette! I appreciate all the support I can get! 🙂

Leave a comment