And I hit success. Awesome.

So it’s official – I can run the distance of a 5K now. Woot! I am pretty happy about it because it was where I was at when I hurt my knee last year so I’ve been both anxious to reach the mark (because I want to feel that I can do it again) and nervous about reaching it (because I’m worried about my knee). But, this morning I did 3.5 miles and my knee doesn’t hurt (I paused here to knock on my wood table, just so you know).

It is so amazingly gorgeous out today. When we went out to run, it was 62 degrees! I felt the day deserved for us to venture away from the parks and to see some nature. We went to Linear Trail and the Manhattan/Fort Riley entrance and ran to the entrance by the Holiday Inn. Or is it the Clarion? Heck I can’t remember – the entrance by the hotel that may or may not now be called Holiday Inn or Clarion. And then we turned around and ran back.

I was just reading in one of my running books that a competitive runner will do a 5K in 13-18 minutes…and a beginning runner normally does it 30-36 minutes. Well, I’m not there yet. I think Dave is though – if he didn’t slow his pace for me, I think he’d do it in 30ish minutes. I’m still at 40ish minutes but I’m working on it. I’d like to hit 36 minutes before I enter a race or walk/run event. And that’s purely because I don’t want to be embarrassed that I’m so slow. I’m guessing no one there will understand that I started this whole thing as an obese, out-of-shape, wannabe runner and therefore be proud of me even finishing the darn thing. But I will definitely bring along someone/s with me when I do run a race so that there will be people proud of me. I’m a little needy like that. 🙂

We’re heading out tomorrow morning again to run. Dave is going to try to run everyday this week because he leaves for the weekend and will not be running at all Saturday or Sunday. Or maybe even Monday – depends on how much “hanging out” with friends he does over the weekend. He may need an extra recovery day. And now….back to work. I’m thinking of doing work with my laptop on my back porch in the gorgeous weather!

2 comments

  1. alibrariangirl · September 4, 2011

    Oh my goodness I am so proud of you! I knew you could do it! But it had to be at the right time. For you. I would not say you are needy, but maybe human. We seem to live in a world where many with the microphone will tell us that it does not or should not take a village to do much of anything, but I disagree. Everyone needs a village, or community. Of friends and/or family. We help each other when needed and we look around to see who may notice when we have an accomplishment – for that pat on the back that everyone occasionally desires. I think that attribute began as wee little ones when we yelled to a parent, “watch me! watch me!” when we did something great.

    Embarrassed because you are slow? PU-LESE!! You finished!

    So I say, good for you! YOU ran. YOU planned. YOU lost the 22 pounds. YOU should be proud. And those that encouraged you along the way, your community. . . .well. . . maybe because of them you lost 22 pounds instead of 15. So of course you want them to be part of the victory!

    YEEEEE HAA!!

    • Melia Erin · September 6, 2011

      Thank you!! Your words are kind and true! I do need a village at times but I am learning to be proud of myself, all by myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

