So Close…

After finally getting on board with the whole “I have to drink 100,000 gallons of water every day idea” last week, I was able to really start feeling better. Though, seriously, do you have any idea how many times you have to use the restroom when you drink 100,000 gallons of water a day? It’s ridiculous.

Saturday I met my super awesome training friend at linear trail and we did our 5 mile run scheduled for that day. It actually ended up being more than 5 miles because we went a little further than 2.5 before we turned around and came back. My time was the best yet – I was pretty darn happy. Well, I was pretty darn happy once I stopped being sore. And sunburned. Who knew that running in the sun would cause sunburn?

Actually, I realized that I need to run more during the day. I run so often before the sun rises that I’m really not conditioned to running in the heat of the sun. It’s something I’m going to have to figure out these next few weeks for sure.

Oh, and SATURDAY IS THE 10K!!!! That’s only like 3 days from now!

But – and here’s the part where you should just stop reading because it’s pretty sappy and emotional – as usual, I’ve managed to screw myself over. Remember the stupid incident a couple weeks ago where I wore 4-inch heels and sprained my toes on my right foot? Well, I thought they had healed just fine. But two days ago, they were starting to hurt again. Yesterday morning they were really bad. I went to my chiropractor and had him do some work on them because I was thinking they may have just been jammed. Nope, there is some bone/muscle combo there (I don’t remember what the heck it was called) that is bruised and whatnot. By the end of the day yesterday, I could not walk on my right foot. My three middle toes on my right foot cannot move/curl without shooting pain down my foot and the area of my foot that connects to those toes (can you tell I did NOT take a biology course?) is extremely sore and hurts.

Why the pain all of a sudden? Well, two days ago I wore a pair mule/slide type shoes. Yesterday I had on sandal flip flops. Turns out that those toes had not completely healed and from wearing those two types of shoes, I put so much pressure on those bones/muscles again that they’re all jacked up. Again. Turns out all those doctors who say flip flops are like the worse thing ever were correct.

Here’s the sappy part:  not going to lie, I sat on the couch with my foot up, wrapped up in ice and cried. I am so upset. SO UPSET. If I can’t get this to heal by Saturday and run that 10K, I am honestly going to be so pissed at myself that I will not talk to anyone for days. Okay, not really – everyone who knows me won’t believe that I wouldn’t talk for days. But seriously – how many times is this going to happen? How many times will I get so close to a goal and have something go wrong? Granted, I am so much further than I was last time in distance, but still, I just don’t get it nor understand. I swear I’m doing that 10K this Saturday if I have to walk/limp the damn thing.

So, I’m kinda a hot mess today. I’m really mad at myself, a little depressed and disheartened, and in pain. Don’t you want to come and hang out with me today? Fortunately, I’m a hell of an actress so I’ll be able to put it aside while teaching and in meetings today. But other than that – you probably shouldn’t come talk to me today – unless you want to see me wallowing and pissed off at myself.

But, this too shall pass. I’m sure tomorrow will be super fantastic. Right?

4 comments

  1. Katie the Librarian · March 28, 2012

    Oh, the things we do for fashion! Heal fast, Friend! Sending positive toe thoughts your way.

    • Melia Erin · March 28, 2012

      Sigh. Shoes. I think the universe is trying to tell me I need to select new shoes. 🙂

  2. Char · March 28, 2012

    You have every right to be upset but if you can’t run this Saturday, just grab all those other runner-types at work and schedule a special 10K. It could be quite the party! Hang in there & feel better soon.

    • Melia Erin · March 28, 2012

      Thanks Char! And I love the idea of a Librarian 10K! 🙂

Leave a Reply

