i need the bodybuilder mentality

One of my best friends in high school went out into the world and became what she wanted to be – a bodybuilder. And she’s fan-freaking-tastic at it. Like, she’s an IFBB Professional Builder and has competed. And I love her for going out deciding what she wanted to do, stayed with it, and became successful and stayed with it through the good and bad times.

Yesterday morning while going around City Park, one of the local trainers was out there doing crap I can’t even begin to describe – I’m sure my crazy-ass-friend/online-trainer Douglas could tell me what it was, but I have no idea – like a weird push-up/lunge/crawl with some kind of bar thing. But what it looked like was that he was lunging/push-upping/spider crawling around the park, which let me tell you, is freaky to see at 5am in the dark.

(really, I swear this will all make sense and connect)

So. One of the times going around the Park, he stopped and said he was training harder now because he was leaving town this week – for a bodybuilding competition – and, he is totally fit and from my inexperienced eye, totally looks like he’ll do just fine at said competition.

Some years ago, I met a fabulously attractive man in New Orleans while partying there with two friends. Seriously people, he was beautiful. LOL. Anyway, we spent hours in the night drinking Tanqueray straight out of the bottle. I don’t remember what his job was but I remember on the side he was a competitive body builder.

Why am I rambling on about bodybuilders? It’s not because I want to be one (because, let’s be honest, I’m so not cut out for that). But – I think there’s something here to think about – my friend Heather has pretty much dedicated her life to this goal. Man at the Park (whose name I do not know) is out there at 5am pretty much every day that I am doing crazy ass workout things WHILE still training people at the same time. And stranger from New Orleans worked a job, competed, and had time to go to a convention on New Orleans for some down time. That’s all some serious dedication – and I wish I had it.

But here’s the question of the day – or week – or whatever:  how in the world do you find this dedication? And where the heck is the manual that one must read where I learn how to do this while working as tenure-track faculty at a university? I’m all for work-life balance, but how do I fit in that kind of dedication AND work AND family AND personal life?

Dave always tells me that professional body builders, models, celebrities, etc., have time to do hardcore dedication & training because it is their full-time job to do that and it might be hard for me to do something similar because I’m working another full-time job. But I don’t like that reason. I want someone to tell me how to do it. But I’m guessing that’s one of those “you need to figure it out on your own” things.

Having said that, if you know how to do it, please let me know. LOL

I’m tired today – probably why I’m so disconnected and rambling. And I’m frustrated because I’m only a few days into moving forward with the trying new lifestyle and I’m already frustrated. So, I’m frustrated because I’m frustrated. That’s some good reasoning there – good thing I don’t have a master’s degree in English or anything. Geesh.

But tomorrow is a new day. Or as my friend Ralph Waldo Emerson would say:  “Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

8 comments

  1. Livia · September 26, 2012

    I’m convinced that those people need less sleep than the rest of us. Seriously. Because you can’t add hours to the day unless you are awake.

  2. Cindy · September 26, 2012

    Hmmmmm … interesting stuff to think about. Time – – I think to a degree it depends on your job … let me ramble for a minute (cuz sometimes I have a tendency to to do that). Your incredible friend Heather (awesome success!!!) and your online trainer Douglas (BTW Thank you for your service and keep being safe, we need you back home!) do it as part of their career – – as with the trainer in the park, say he has time between clients he can do a little personal workout time. Traditionally librarians are not ones to have to be “fit” to do their job … no, librarians are supposed to be readers (yet another portion of my job that could use some umpff) or at least be well read. And I think this is a reflection on our nation as a whole (minus said above people) – – we are not that concerned with being healthy … well, we are, but we don’t have that internal motivation to the degree that those folks might have. (And great job to friend Joelle Pitts, she is making it a priority for her … she has some great goals that I know she is going to achieve!) And what primarily motivates people more than your job requiring something … cuz I am not sure we’d be working 50ish hours/week if the job didn’t require it … kind of see where I am going?

    So with a lot of things for me, I have to find that “thing” that makes me motivated. And I have no answers for that … other than the normal … having supportive friends and family during the awesome and not so awesome times is a good step. I too am anxious to see the insight that Heather and Douglas have.

    Ok, so I rambled for more than a minute and what the hell am I doing writing this before 6 a.m!!!! 🙂

  3. Jody · September 26, 2012

    A friend of my daughter’s is a bodybuilder. She manages to find time to work (at a fitness center), takes care of her four children and spends time with her husband. Admittedly, the children are older now & not in need of constant care. I don’t know how she does it, either! She’s been competing for a few years and does fairly well.

  4. Melia Erin · September 26, 2012

    I definitely need to find time to get all of this organized – like, if I could figure out a way to get this all done in a day, then surely I could pull it off. I’m positive I could. BUT I also need to remain realistic and that’s going to be harder for me – I have a tendency to get obsessed with things…. 🙂

  5. Heather · September 28, 2012

    How is it done? Sheer love for it. I dont know how to live any other way. When I was at the top of my sport I was 2nd in the world(not in Colorado.. not in the US.. world), owned my gym, married, step kids, and very very busy! I made it work and it was definitely not easy but there is something insanely rewarding about disaplining yourself and being able to do it physically is like no reward. Balancing out my life did end in a divorce for me and losing my mind for a while. I do know that people that can physically push themselve have a happiness that I cant even describe. Its a physical high. When I train my ass off I get a clarity that is priceless! Eating clean and whole foods just puts the icing on the cake.. so to speak. And believe me I do eat cake! You can make the choice… you can have whatever you want in this life. You just have to do it.

  6. Heather · September 28, 2012

    Oh and fyi.. owning a gym is much like owning a restaruant. It is FULL time! It owns you! The first year I put in 10-14 hour days.. 6 days a week. 5 hours on Sundays.

    • Melia Fritch · September 28, 2012

      Heather, I totally hope I can do it – I definitely plan on giving it my best! I totally forgot you owned the gym while doing all of that – you are for real an inspiration 🙂 I think I’m getting tastes of the clarity of which you speak – and they do taste sooo good 🙂

      • Heather Armbrust · October 4, 2012

        That clarity will come the more you stay consistant! Consistancy is always the pay off! Dont hope baby.. just do it! I know you can.. just keep with whatever the program may be for 30 days and constantly improve it day by day. Pust harder. Oh it taste like nothing else.. get some girl!

Leave a Reply

