my strong community = love

I know a lot of people – for real – if you don’t believe me, take a walk across campus mid-day with me sometime and see how many people say hello to me. Or, try having a meeting with me during the day at the local coffee shop. I’ve actually been told that it’s annoying to be in public with me for that reason (and, no,  NOT because of my piercings, tattoos, crazy-ass hair, or eccentric fashion style). It’s largely because I’ve worked on campus for 12 years. 12 years! Crazy. So yeah, I know a lot of people.

But are they all my friends? Of course not. Most of them probably couldn’t tell you what my full name is (any version of it) or really anything about me at all. And that’s okay because life isn’t a race to see who has the most friends. I think it’s more important to build connections and create a support system for yourself with solid and true friends than it is to have a lot of friends. And I have one heck of an amazing support system – I am extremely blessed.

I have a super solid small group of bffs – people who I know will love me no matter what crazy ass shit I do, what I’m thinking, how long it’s been since I’ve talked to them, or whether or not I was in their office crying the other day. Pure love. We would do ANYTHING for each other – and many times, already have done the aforementioned ANYTHING. And then I have a solid group of friends who may at times think I’m a *little* crazy and odd, but still love me anyway and we are getting to know each other more each and every day. And then I have a circle of friends who may not be super close to me but who I know care about me and who are all great people whom I too love and also are an integral part of my life.

Why am I listing all of this out? Because all of the above people + my family = a whole lotta love for me and one hell of a safety net and support system. And that my friends is the only way I am going to succeed on this journey. Yeah, I’ve got discipline (most of the time), resilience, intelligence, faith, etc., but above all else, I have people who will catch me when I fall, hold my hand along the walk, and high-five me when I reach a milestone. When my friend and I ran that 10K awhile back, I had my own cheering section there to greet me when I finished. When I am having shitty-ass days at work, I have people to talk to and places to hide. When I need to drink, share ideas, laugh my ass off, people are only a phone call/text away. And THAT is why I’m making it. Why I’ve lost weight. Why I continue to make myself get out and run and exercise. Why I’m actually somewhat keeping to my financial budget. Why…well, you get the idea.

The blogging family I’ve gained of late (yep, that’s you!) has also been fantastic. Though there may none/few comments on the blog itself, I have excellent conversations with people via Facebook, messages, phone calls, texts, and in my office. I love that I’m speaking truth and am making connections because of it. Good stuff. I guess that’s what I’m trying to say – having this support system is such a vital part of my life and I thank you. Truly.

Love Maya Angelou: “We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.”

2 comments

  1. alibrariangirl · October 4, 2012

    Reading your post while drinking my first cup of coffee this morning was a beautiful way to start my day. thank you.

  2. Melia Erin · October 4, 2012

    🙂 thank you for reading it!

Leave a Reply

