Thoughts on Hatred

I don’t use the word hate – I actually work hard to not have any hate in my life as I think it is an ugly emotion that can cause many problems. Hate leaves no room for love and I truly believe that everyone has some redeeming quality that is truly worth love.

Even those in my past who have done me horribly wrong – and whom I’ve hated in the past – I can no longer hate them. I have forgiven them (but not forgotten) for their assault, attempted rape, abuse, and their own hate toward me. I no longer hate them and have not hated since.

For me, it is so much more important to love and be kind – to find peace – rather than live in hate.

So. Imagine my sadness in reading anonymous people spewing hate on the internet and in my Facebook newsfeed. It truly makes me physically ill. I especially cannot understand how people who say that love is important can the next moment turn to hate. Just don’t get it. It deeply saddens me.

Anyway, that’s all. Been a long day today and I need some time to reflect. If it wasn’t so late at night and dark and cold outside, my butt would be out running around the park and processing this through. Instead, I will do the dishes. 🙂

4 comments

  1. hannahrose · December 11, 2012

    Girlf. Word. Word, word, word.

  2. Wendy · December 11, 2012

    I have the same philosophy on ‘hate’ and if I find that I’m disliking something or someone intensely, then it’s about me – there’s something I’ve not examined or resolved that is causing me those intense feelings of dislike. Sometimes, it’s really not me and the other person or situation is just jacked. hugs.

    • Melia Erin · December 14, 2012

      You’re absolutely right – when I feel a less-than-kind feeling toward someone, I usually try to stop and check myself about it. You know, sometimes that person or situation is just jacked, I totally agree. 🙂

Leave a Reply

