Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate

This week’s photo challenge was “delicate” and I (as usual) couldn’t pick just one thing to take a photo of nor could I then pick just one to show. So, here we are again with a collage. But the cool thing is that all my photos in the collage have a little story.

Friday night my best friend sister delivered me a present:  an  unabridged second edition 1958 Webster’s dictionary!! It’s like the largest single-volume dictionary I’ve seen in a long time. It makes me so happy to sit and think about the words in there – I mean, think of all the words that are not in there because they just simply did not exist 50 some years ago! So the first image is of a thin delicate page from the dictionary – showing the entry for delicate, of course. The Christmas ornaments in the next photo are currently on my tree as I type. I’m still amazed they’re still on the tree between my crazy cat and wild dog. But there they are, looking all pretty.

When I first saw the theme for the weekly photo challenge, I immediately thought of china – as long as I can remember, my mom and grandmother have had sets of china that we always used for holidays and special occasions. But then some years ago, my mom decided that there was nothing more special than the occasions when you get to eat with your family so we started using the china all the time which was pretty awesome. Sets of china are kind of thing in my family – if you have time someday, ask my grandfather about the china he bought during the war and had shipped to the states. He’d LOVE to tell you all about it. When I moved out on my own after the divorce, my mom gave me my first set of china – the china tea set that is in the next photo.

The past couple of years in the house we live in now, I have used greenery-garland to wrap around this odd pole in one of the doorways. It’s become kind of a thing now to see what I can hang from it – the colors change every year because (not surprisingly) I get bored with the theme I used the year before. So this year it is all red, green, and gold – and for the garland on the pole? Red glitter snowflakes.

One of my good friends taught me how to can tomatoes and other good stuff this year (and now I make a mean corn and black bean salsa!). She teaches me how to be a regular ol’ Becky Home Ecky (hmmm…mom, I don’t know how to spell that!). So yesterday I spent the afternoon at her house doing apples. I got to use this crazy ass tool that peeled, cored, and sliced apples all at the same time. It was pretty cool actually. We froze apple slices, made homemade apple pie filling that we canned, and made homemade apple sauce. The long peel from each apple was so thin – so that too became an image for delicate. And while at her house, I got to play with one of the two baby kitties. They are so tiny – but much larger than when I first saw them awhile back. She nursed them to health when they were only like 2 weeks old (if that – I can’t remember for sure) because their mom was killed by some other animal. Anyway, they are almost 3 months now and still so delicate and little – this one is Boot. Isn’t he adorable?

So, there you go: delicate, melia-style. 🙂

4 comments

  1. Cindy · December 16, 2012

    That’s a good picture of Boot! Carrol wanted to know where Shoe was … I told him he wouldn’t pose! I am at a loss on what our next kitchen escapade should involve. Maybe we need to get some deer meat and make summer sausage! LOL Just up your alley! It was a fun way to spend the afternoon and get rid of the rest of the apples! I think next I need to come up and have Dave teach me how to fry chicken!!

    • Melia Erin · December 16, 2012

      Though I would do just about anything for you, slaughtering a deer is NOT on that list. Ick. I still have memories of my mom and dad doing that I was very little – like, maybe when I was in 3rd grade or so – and it was horrible. And I ate meat then!

      David I am sure would love to have a fried chicken party over here. We’ve done that before here – though never with any “lessons” happening. He’d probably get a kick out of it. LOL

  2. Mom · December 17, 2012

    The pictures are gorgeous! I love the ornaments and, of course, the china.

    Becky Homecky is how I always envisioned it. Isn’t is in your 1958 Webster’s dictionary? 🙂

    • Melia Erin · December 17, 2012

      Ha. I should check to see if it’s in there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

