the random awesome of my life

So yesterday was kind of a frustrating day. This happens sometimes – no one has perfect days at work every day (and if you do, please message me and tell me about it – seriously). But the cool thing is, the bad didn’t overcome me. Well, it almost did, but then three awesome things happened:

1) I had the sheer enjoyment of going shopping with my friend after work. I’m not being sarcastic – it was awesome. You may think that shopping sounds kinda selfish but wait! First let me tell you about what we were shopping for! See, my department at work ROCKS and we’ve been adopting a charity at Christmastime the last two years – this year we adopted the local emergency shelter. We gathered money together and I called the shelter to see what they needed the most right now. That list consisted of cleaning supplies, disinfectant wipes, laundry detergent, printer paper, toilet paper, and paper towels. My amazing colleagues contributed so much that we were able to buy this much stuff (and for scaling purpose, that’s the back of a big ol’ Honda Pilot):

All the supplies for the shelter!

All the supplies for the shelter!

The picture really doesn’t do it justice – it’s 2 boxes of printer paper, like 24 rolls paper towel, 60 rolls of toilet paper, super size glass cleaners, dish soap, all purpose cleaners, scrubbing cleaners, floor cleaner, 8 things of disinfectant wipes, four large boxes of laundry detergent and some kleenex. And I’m probably forgetting something, but you get the idea. I’m so happy to be able to deliver all of these supplies to the shelter today!

2) While we were loading the stuff into the vehicle, two older ladies got out of the car next to us and we were talking about the snow forecast. I stood up from loading things into the car and one of the ladies stopped mid-sentence to say “you are so pretty!” – um, that doesn’t happen to me everyday. Yay, random stranger compliment! ๐Ÿ™‚

3) Then, after I was home from work, another friend stopped by and to give me a present – but not just any freaking present – like the best present EVER! I enjoy coloring to relax (check out meditative mandalas – very good stuff) and she brought me new colored pencils, a fancy sharpener, and these two super fantastic coloring books, The Gangsta Rap Coloring Book and this super awesome gem:

Unicorns are Jerks Coloring Book

Okay, so these first of all are like the best coloring books EVER. But, the extra cool part is that I was *just* talking about Unicorns are Jerks on Facebook the other day and this particular friend is not on Facebook – she is however, psychic. Not kidding.

So, that’s it. That’s how my day got 1,000 times better. ย The total random awesome that sometimes in my life. You just can’t make this shit up. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

  1. Char · December 19, 2012

    Your department is awesome! It’s amazing what a little ‘giving’ does for your spirits.

    And bless that older lady. She’s right, you know. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Melia Erin · December 19, 2012

      Ha. Thanks, Char. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Giving really does feel awesome – did you see this article about the #26Acts of Kindness that Ann Curry was talking about? Good stuff: http://is.gd/vAUQbM

Leave a Reply

