feeling pretty darn proud right now

This morning’s post will not be long – partially because I’m getting ready for the day of workshop activities and partially because I only have one small little update to give about last night’s run.

As expected, I felt the need to get out and do something physically active after the day was done and supper was eaten. I headed back down to that trail and picked which way to go – this time I picked toward a cool bridge I knew was down there somewhere. My intention was to run for 13 minutes, walk a bit, turn around and run back. Except that didn’t quite work out that way. I ended up just running and running – to the bridge, across the bridge, up a boardwalk hill, and then I realized I had been running for 20 minutes straight and it was starting to get darker. So I turned around – without walking/stopping – and ran back to where I started, and then I ran just a bit more. Once I hit 40 minutes, I knew I wanted to do 50 minutes because when my son and I did the 5K distance this past Sunday, that’s how long it took us, walking and running. And that’s what I did – I ran for a total of 51:23 minutes last night without stopping.

I know for most long distance runners, that is not a big deal or the fact that I run at like a 14 minute pace is slow – BUT I DON’T CARE WHAT ANYONE ELSE THINKS. I’m freaking ecstatic that I ran for 50 minutes. I honestly haven’t done that in a long, long time. And frankly, I’m pretty damn proud of myself.

That’s it – just a short post to say that I’m feeling pretty happy and pleased right now. And now, off to a day/afternoon/evening of workshops!

6 comments

  1. alibrariangirl · July 24, 2013

    Wonderful! You totally should be proud!

    • Melia Erin · July 24, 2013

      Thank you Antoinette!!! Much appreciated. 🙂

  2. hannahrose · July 24, 2013

    That is awesome, Melia! Git it, girl.

  3. Jody · July 24, 2013

    Way to go!

    • Melia Erin · July 24, 2013

      thank you Jody – I’m pretty happy about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

