finishing in the race!

We’re back at home now – showered, hydrated, stretched, and rested. And it’s only 9:43am! I dig these early morning races. 🙂

The 5K went super well today – I felt like I was dragging big time but in the end, I was quite pleased with the results. From training the last week with my husband, my son’s pace was faster than mine (well, that and he’s skinny and 15, unlike his mother lol) but he stayed with me for most of it. The last 1/2 mile though he headed off ahead of me which was totally cool. I am so proud of him for training with me for four weeks and doing the race. Best summer project I’ve thought of for us to do yet.

I wanted to finish in 51 minutes or under (that’s where we were at 2 weeks ago) and I was really actually hoping for 45 minutes. I knew then I’d be doing at least a 15 minute mile jog pace which I would be happy with – but…my finishing time was 38:24 instead!!! And my son did it in 36:52!! Seriously, so proud. We’ve decided that next summer’s goal is to do it under 30 minutes. 🙂

Here’s my photo gallery from the day – enjoy!

The Brew 2 Shoe 10K/5K was sponsored by a number of great local business (in addition to Manhattan Running Company of course) including Tallgrass Brewing Company and AJ’s Pizzeria – so, after the race, I had a super tasty Tallgrass Halcyon Wheat beer (at 8am) and my son had some pepperoni pizza. Good times all around. 🙂

3 comments

  1. shelly · August 3, 2013

    Great job Melia!! I’m so proud of you!!

    • Melia Erin · August 3, 2013

      Thank you! And thank you for being out there – it was so great having friends cheering us on along the way! 🙂

  2. alibrariangirl · August 4, 2013

    So proud of both of you! What a fantastic mother/son project to complete together. Even though I’m all for exercise and walking and eating healthy and etc etc, I think I would have just joined your hubby for a cup of coffee in the shade and waited to wave at you as you whizzed on by!

Leave a Reply

